Page 1 of 2

Shipsoul utility

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:44 pm
by Cardno
Anyone here using shipsoul? I'm trying to get my head around it and am struggling (I'm computer illiterate as many of you already know :lol: )

Any help to talk me through it would be appreciated.

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:49 pm
by the.Ant
What is it? Never heard of it...

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:53 pm
by Cardno
Its a player utility which allows you to have two sets of ship names. One for yourself which no-one else can see and a separate list which your opponents see.

It means that you can set ship names which help you remember a ship's purpose, general abilities etc, but you don't give this away.

It's on this CM link, towards the bottom.

http://www.circus-maximus.com/dl-pu.htm

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:03 pm
by the.Ant
Ok, dunno about that. JVC has this function per default (called ship alias IIRC), and it's the only client/tool I use.

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:04 pm
by Cardno
Yes, I really need to think more seriously about a client utility. At the moment I use winplan with a bit of echoview.

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:09 pm
by B A N E
Heh, I use VPA's built in shipname scrambler.
I'm sure my adversaries just love:

Serial##^QA#$AS!!11`1#

:twisted:

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:11 pm
by Cardno
That would be as annoying as hell!

Or you could try binary

00111001001100011 :D

Re: Shipsoul utility

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:08 pm
by Havok
Cardno wrote:Anyone here using shipsoul? I'm trying to get my head around it and am struggling (I'm computer illiterate as many of you already know :lol: )

Any help to talk me through it would be appreciated.
DF used to use it, don't know if he still does. Send him an email.

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:08 pm
by Havok
B A N E wrote:Heh, I use VPA's built in shipname scrambler.
I'm sure my adversaries just love:

Serial##^QA#$AS!!11`1#

:twisted:
You know as well as I do BANE that you can lead a player to VPA, but you can't make them use it... :twisted:

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:21 pm
by Cardno
Havok wrote:
B A N E wrote:Heh, I use VPA's built in shipname scrambler.
I'm sure my adversaries just love:

Serial##^QA#$AS!!11`1#

:twisted:
You know as well as I do BANE that you can lead a player to VPA, but you can't make them use it... :twisted:
Well, I did try once to use that as well. Guess I will just need to settle on one someday and persevere. :shock:

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:51 am
by Gavan
I always thought the notepad on each planet and ship was enough space to remember what I had planned for the ship / planet on the following turn.

(As I am sure you have all seen my boring ship names do not tell anyone much about what each ship has planned for the next turn or 3.) :D

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:59 am
by Cardno
Gavan wrote:I always thought the notepad on each planet and ship was enough space to remember what I had planned for the ship / planet on the following turn.

(As I am sure you have all seen my boring ship names do not tell anyone much about what each ship has planned for the next turn or 3.) :D
I didn't realise that you moved your ships..... Certainly nothing much is moving in GRT... :wink:

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:04 am
by Gavan
As I have told you more than once in GRT. Cloaking Golems are hard to see :D

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:05 am
by Cardno
I might move my fleet south again - then you will be stuck on zero tonnage for the whole game :twisted:

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:52 am
by Gavan
You are going to take your fleet and run away from me? Tell me that is not so. :shock:

(I thought the idea was to wait and see the whites of your enemies eyes not show them the yellow colour of your belly) :D