Page 1 of 2

Cloak intercept and battle order

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:47 am
by Hawkeye
Hi Cherek

In a game I'm playing in, I set 2 darkwings to cloak intercept the same ship, with PE set on both to attack the intercepted ship. The one I wanted to fight first (ship ID 179), I set FC to 232 and the one I wanted to fight second (ship ID 262), I set FC to 565.

However the ship with ID 262 (FC 565) fought first, not second. Any thoughts on why they fought out of order?

TIA, Hawkeye

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:49 am
by Gavan
Donovan's Says

"
The highest ID ship with a cloaking device on an intercept mission attacks before lower ID ships with a cloaking device on intercept missions.
"

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:20 am
by Hawkeye
So that would mean that the FC has nothing to do with the battle order when cloakers are on an intercept... :?

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:12 pm
by hennef
that is the point of cloaked intercept ;)

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:48 pm
by Shardin5
Hawkeye wrote:So that would mean that the FC has nothing to do with the battle order when cloakers are on an intercept... :?
Cloaked interecpt ignores battle order all together, thats why cloaked ships on a intercetp mission will fight the ship they are set to intercept instead of having to fight all the ships at the x,y in battle order.

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:20 am
by BitMask
Enemy#1 wrote: Cloaked interecpt ignores battle order all together, thats why cloaked ships on a intercetp mission will fight the ship they are set to intercept instead of having to fight all the ships at the x,y in battle order.
And they say you can't teach an old dog new tricks 8) (cause I did not know this one)

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:32 am
by Hawkeye
BitMask wrote:
Enemy#1 wrote: Cloaked interecpt ignores battle order all together, thats why cloaked ships on a intercetp mission will fight the ship they are set to intercept instead of having to fight all the ships at the x,y in battle order.
And they say you can't teach an old dog new tricks 8) (cause I did not know this one)
Guess this applies to us young dogs as well :D

Cheers all!

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:43 am
by Captain Blood
Once let say 2 DW´s killed the 2 ships they intercepted, I would like to know if it is correct they will then fight due to the numerical FC and not higest shipnumber anymore?

Since some of you apparently have the answer right at hand I decided not to look into Donovan before asking.

Perhaps I should try the Birds in my next game.

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:56 am
by Gavan
Yes as far as I know, when the cloaking intercept is finished for all ships, then the standard battle order applies.

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:58 am
by Shardin5
Captain Blood wrote:Once let say 2 DW´s killed the 2 ships they intercepted, I would like to know if it is correct they will then fight due to the numerical FC and not higest shipnumber anymore?

Since some of you apparently have the answer right at hand I decided not to look into Donovan before asking.

Perhaps I should try the Birds in my next game.
Yes.



Cloakers, it doesn't matter what race, will fight in numerical order based on FC, after all cloaked intercept battles are over. Mix up your cloaked DW's with Intercpting DW's, remember to use Ship ID, for the intercepting ships as a quasi numerical fightting order.

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:02 pm
by Cherek
Captain Blood wrote:Once let say 2 DW´s killed the 2 ships they intercepted, I would like to know if it is correct they will then fight due to the numerical FC and not higest shipnumber anymore?

Since some of you apparently have the answer right at hand I decided not to look into Donovan before asking.

Perhaps I should try the Birds in my next game.
If they survive the cloak/intercept attack then they will follow normal combat rules and fight in the normal combat.

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:19 pm
by streu
Enemy#1 wrote:
Hawkeye wrote:So that would mean that the FC has nothing to do with the battle order when cloakers are on an intercept... :?
Cloaked interecpt ignores battle order all together, thats why cloaked ships on a intercetp mission will fight the ship they are set to intercept instead of having to fight all the ships at the x,y in battle order.
NO NO NO! Cloaked ships cannot intercept! (Since that's confusing for many people, I agitate for using the term "intercept attack" or, if you insist having "cloak" in it, "cloaker intercept", but "cloaked intercept" is just plain wrong, because it is not cloaked.)

That aside, cloakers doing intercept-attack will honor battle order in recent PHosts due to player demand. That is, first all intercepting cloakers will fight their targets in battle order, and then all remaining ships fight in battle order. This allows people to intercept a target with several ships and still configure a battle order. Earlier PHosts behave like Tim's host and resolve intercept attack in reverse Id order.


--Stefan

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:32 pm
by Shardin5
Ah,
the latest version of PHOST allows you to set ships to Intercept, and use FC battle order instead of Highest ship ID, that is good news to hear.
Yes the term Cloaked Intercept, is a misnomer of sorts.

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:28 pm
by Hawkeye
Awlrighty then, here's another one for ya

Two cloakers, lets call them A and B are set to intercept two freighters, lets call them 1 and 2. A is set to intercept 1, and B is set to intercept 2.

If freighters 1 and 2 travel together, will A fight 1, followed by B fighting 2, or will one of the cloakers fight 1 then fight 2 afterwards...?

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:58 pm
by Cherek
Hawkeye wrote:Two cloakers, lets call them A and B are set to intercept two freighters, lets call them 1 and 2. A is set to intercept 1, and B is set to intercept 2.

If freighters 1 and 2 travel together, will A fight 1, followed by B fighting 2, or will one of the cloakers fight 1 then fight 2 afterwards...?
A will fight 1 and B will fight 2. All the intercept attacks will will be resolved before regular combat.