Anyone have experience running VGAP on a USB Key?

There is where you can ask Cherek anything that's on your mind.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

Post Reply
User avatar
Tyrion
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: Naperville, IL , USA

Anyone have experience running VGAP on a USB Key?

Post by Tyrion » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:18 am

I know there is a program that lets you run VGAP on a USB thumb drive, presumably so you can play at work, and not mess up the company computer. Does anyone have experience with that? Does it work?

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7574
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Re: Anyone have experience running VGAP on a USB Key?

Post by Havok » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:21 am

Tyrion wrote:I know there is a program that lets you run VGAP on a USB thumb drive, presumably so you can play at work, and not mess up the company computer. Does anyone have experience with that? Does it work?
It works just fine. I've played many a game of VGAP on my lunch break.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Tyrion
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: Naperville, IL , USA

Post by Tyrion » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:07 am

are there any instructions?
How do I make the USB VGAP look like the one on my computer?

User avatar
Olyrin
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:36 am
Location: In the arena

Post by Olyrin » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:34 am

I ran VGAP on a usb drive for a long time. I just copied the plan1 folder to the USB drive and ran VGAP using VPA. I'm not sure if it works with winplan but VPA worked great for me.

Just don't get fired for playing at work. :D
It is not the critic who counts...
The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena...

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2321
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:58 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by BitMask » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:46 am

Only problem will be that Echoview uses some things setup in the registry of the PC. You will have to setup the game in Echoview on each new PC that you want to use Echoview on. Winplan, VPA, JVC and PCC should all be fine (I suggest you try and keep the same drive letter for the USB drive though).

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7574
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Post by Havok » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:58 pm

Same here. I used VPA. No problems at all. Just call it up through a DOS prompt or make a batch file.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Tyrion
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: Naperville, IL , USA

Post by Tyrion » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:35 pm

dos?? what is that ? You guys must be real old geeks.

Silvestr Potash
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:32 pm

Post by Silvestr Potash » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:09 pm

Same as Havok, except i use bootable free-dos flash with VPA.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Brownsboro, AL USA
Contact:

Post by Cherek » Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:56 am

I know this is late, but I have ran Winplan, EchoView and RandMax for several years from a thumb drive or copied files from one computer to another while I was playing with no issues. The only issue was that there is 4 XXXX.vbx that installed in the C:\Windows directory that needs to be installed in the WinPlan directory. I can't say anything about the other clients.
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

Post Reply

Return to “Ask Cherek”