multiple abhost buildings

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

Post Reply
User avatar
Mika
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

multiple abhost buildings

Post by Mika » Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:01 pm

hi,

the subject says it all. is it possible to build more than one building of one type? I have to ask before I waste thousands of MC on something that won't work.

thanx in advance
Oderint dum metuant.
---------------------------------------------
Bella gerant alii, tu, felix Austria, nube!

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Post by Havok » Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:05 pm

Responding from my phone so forgive the bad grammar if it happens.

I want to say the answe is no. You can build a second school for example and the funds will be spent, but you will still only have one school.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
JonnyDoH
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:45 am

Post by JonnyDoH » Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:31 pm

According to the ABHost.txt file that comes with our turns, there's a line in that says:
You can build more than one family planning and more than one robotic factory.
So I guess you can build multiples of those, but not anything else. Settings might be different though.
Your go-to source for bargain basement, high quality cardboard armored war ships!

User avatar
DarthHavoc2
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by DarthHavoc2 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:06 am

From the cofig:

Stadium cost supplies: 1000
Stadium cost mc: 1000
Stadium effect: 5
Theme park cost supplies: 2000
Theme park cost mc: 2000
Theme park effect: 10
Mining research cost supplies: 1000
Mining research cost mc: 1000
Mining research effect: 1
Maximum mining research: 4
Robotic factory cost supplies: 1500
Robotic factory cost mc: 1500
Robotic factory produces: 100
School cost supplies: 1000
School cost mc: 1000
School effect: 4
University cost supplies: 2000
University cost mc: 2000
University effect: 6
Family planning cost supplies: 800
Family planning cost mc: 800
Family planning effect: 25
Maximum family plannings: 4
Birdmen cloak freighters: yes
Random jump: hull #59

Notice that only two buildings are allowed to be built multiple times (mining research and family planning). All of the other buildings can only be built once. For the record, I tried building more than one robotic factory on a planet but no money/supplies were taken and no second building was constructed. Nothing lost, nothing gained. The FC didn't change either as usually happens. I haven't tested constructing new buildings over the limit for the other ones so I don't know what will happen in those cases.
"Space is a tough place where wimps eat flaming plasma death!"
- Armin Trott

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Post by Havok » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:52 pm

In the Power Game beta that I ran I tried to build a second university and lost 2000 credits.

I got the message that it was built, etc... but there was still only 1 university.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Rimstalker
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:43 am
Location: Fürth - Germany
Contact:

Post by Rimstalker » Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:38 pm

I think I asked the same question in the last thread about this topic, but why on earth would anyone want to build a 2nd school or university?

Only reason I can see is to burn money when the planet is about to be taken.
Wirklich reich ist, wer mehr | Truly rich is, who holds
Träume in seiner Seele hat, | more dreams in his soul
als die Realität zerstören kann.| than reality can destroy.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7585
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Post by Havok » Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:47 pm

Rimstalker wrote:I think I asked the same question in the last thread about this topic, but why on earth would anyone want to build a 2nd school or university?

Only reason I can see is to burn money when the planet is about to be taken.
In my case just seeing what I could build multiple copies of and what I couldn't...
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Tyrion
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: Naperville, IL , USA

Post by Tyrion » Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:58 pm

I have built multiple family planners and factories in other games. For those buildibng types that are permitted, the second building works.

I haven't tried it in this game, but i know the addon does as stated in the quoted docs.

Post Reply

Return to “Messages From Old Games”