Bad Turn

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Bad Turn

Post#1 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:38 am

AutoTroll's checkturn sequence has detected an error
and possible attempt to cheat in the TRN file you
submitted. AutoTroll has deleted the TRN file. Below
is the result of the check turn sequence:




VGA Planets(tm) CHKTRN [ Version 3.30.010 ]
Copyright (c) 2000 by Tim Wisseman
All rights reserved

CHKTRN.EXE is a Freeware program



<<< Turn Number 39 >>>

*** Searching for commands for The Empire of the Birds ***
The time stamp on the file reads.
09-20-2012
11:14:22
Version 3.50 Client Detected
Windows Client Reports OK, Player: 3
278 commands
+++ERROR!!!+++
Possible cheating
RACE: 3
Planet ID: 161
Colonists from NOWHERE!
-101 clans

PLAYER:= 3 REG:=WINREGISTED
**** ERRORS FOUND!!! ****
ErrorLevel = 3
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock:

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#2 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:03 am

I suggest using Stefan's Check utility. It's a simple command line program you can run called 'Check' which will verify your game data.

It's available here: http://phost.de/~stefan/playutil.html#check
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#3 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:05 am

Host runs in 16 minutes, got a faster idea?????????????? :cry:

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#4 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:10 am

Burnerboy wrote:Host runs in 16 minutes, got a faster idea?????????????? :cry:
I logged into the server and added 2 hours to the host time on NF103. Is that enough time for you?
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#5 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:20 am

I'm at work.. Have to be sneaky [-o<

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#6 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:23 pm

Havok wrote:I suggest using Stefan's Check utility. It's a simple command line program you can run called 'Check' which will verify your game data.

It's available here: http://phost.de/~stefan/playutil.html#check
Just for the record: in this particular case, the checkturn message already contains a planet Id. Therefore, the problem is in planet 161 or the ships in its orbit. Which is just what my "check" would have told you, too.

The solution is to undo everything at that place using PCC 1.x or Tanascius and re-giving the commands at this place.

For the future, "check" will be useful anyway to detect such errors before submitting them to the host.


--Stefan

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#7 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:06 pm

I picked the clans back up with the same ship that dropped them and hit "maketrn file" again and sent it in. All is well. The clans had been there for two turns already. :?

Ron

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#8 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:07 pm

Ron one of the things I do is use the maketurn process in PCC. I never have errors like that anymore since I started that.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#9 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:39 pm

The strange thing is that this is the first time in 17 years of playing that this has happened. I dropped the clans two turns ago, moved the ship to the next planet for fuel, then came back. Gonna drop clans again and send a turn to see what happens. At least this time I've got till Thursday to figure it out.

Ron

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#10 » Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:40 pm

Havok wrote:Ron one of the things I do is use the maketurn process in PCC. I never have errors like that anymore since I started that.
If someone else messed up the game data, PCC will not help. It will just pack the mess into a turn file. PCC will help if your regular maketurn routine messes up the turn files somehow, but I believe those to be rare these days.

There is one known problem where Winplan will mess up the data. I believe it goes like this: open planet window, open starbase window, browse to a different planet, buy something on the starbase (or something along these lines). This will mess up the planet minerals. Thus, to avoid this problem, avoid having two windows open in Winplan.

I do not know of a way to mess up colonist clans, but then I don't know everything.


--Stefan

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#11 » Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:21 pm

Just for fun, I put the same clans back on the same planet with the same ship. Make turn, send it in. Got good turn message back in about 10 minutes. =D>

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#12 » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:07 pm

Finished the turn completely, sent it in, came back good. Host ran today, everything looks fine. Whatever :beer:

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#13 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:39 pm

Is tge Troll on break?? :sleep:

User avatar
Burnerboy
Posts: 412

Re: Bad Turn

Post#14 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:40 pm

the

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Bad Turn

Post#15 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:21 pm

Yeah chocked on a piece of spam. You should have your trn/rst in a moment.
Regards,
][avok

Return to “Messages From Old Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron