Page 1 of 5

Windows 7

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:35 pm
by Wintermute
Rather than continuing to hijack the HAVOK HELP posts, has anybody tried Windows 7? What'd you think? I could repartition my drive so I gave up on it but I'm thinking of throwing a HD in there just to give it a shot. Worth it?

Re: Windows 7

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:53 am
by Havok
Wintermute wrote:Rather than continuing to hijack the HAVOK HELP posts, has anybody tried Windows 7? What'd you think? I could repartition my drive so I gave up on it but I'm thinking of throwing a HD in there just to give it a shot. Worth it?
Morning.

This is a good jumping point for you as Windows 7 RC1 is due out tomorrow (April 10th).

I've been testing it since the last one came out (64-bit install) and have been very happy with it. It's faster than Vista in every way, and there's a lot of drivers already available for it.

In case you didn't know, Windows 7 is actually still Vista at it's core, and the actual version number is Windows 6.1 when you look at it via winver.exe. It's basically the same type of upgrade to Vista that XP was to Win2k.

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:12 am
by Gavan
from what I have read and have access to I will be upgrading anything that runs vista to Window 7 on day one as it can not be any worse than vista. (and I know for a fact it will be better)

As for the desktop I have that runs XP, that will wait a while until I see some good reason to do so.

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:44 am
by Havok
7 is nice. I've basically got 4 OS's on my primary machine spaced over 3 hard drives.

XP Pro
Vista Ult.
Windows 7 beta (64-bit)
OSX hack (iATKO's edition)

I spend about 80% of my time in XP. Plain an simple, it's the still the standard even 2 years after Vista's release.

Next I probably split half my time between Windows 7 and OSX. Both are toys really.

Last and least is Vista. It's reliable (for me) but it's a slow, and I have a quad-core machine with 8 gigs of RAM. I basically log into Vista every 4-6 weeks and run updates... Then log out and go back to business.

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:03 am
by Gavan
funny I have 3 drives with the same p0rn over all 3 of them. :D

Vista machines have made a nice console to my XP desktop for years. If I had to live with Vista at work or Windows 7 I would be back at Windows Xp. (in fact I am so .....)

I have a Domain at W2K8 Native and for the password policy it is worth it otherwise .....(Just say no....)

For someone who makes their living from MS products I find Vista a hardsell but for the power management and that is still based on that fact the climate change is real....

The short answer is I will be keeping my XP to play planets until such time there is something worth replacing it with.

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:28 pm
by Cherek
I'm been using Windows 7 (32-bit) since and I have to agree, it's faster than Vista. I haven't had the driver problem with Win7 like when Vista first came out.

Also, none of my VGAP programs have any trouble running under Win7 (32-bit). Now, if we can get some VGAP programs to run on 64-bit OS, I would really be happy.

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:02 pm
by Six_Of_One
Every man and his dog must be trying to get hold of it, so far its been 21 hours for 85% :cry:

Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 6:46 am
by Six_Of_One
Ok i now have it, BUT it doesnt boot up. I tried to get nero to make a bootable dvd with the files on it, but it balked at the sources folder stating it was over 2 gig and nero wasnt going to play.

Yes i can click on setup and get it to play, but i need to instal it with vmware and it insists i have a bootable cd/dvd with an os on it, or a network thingy or removable dowhatsit. My removable dowhatsit is only 1 gig.

So, what can i do to make this ferker boot up when i put the dvd in.

Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:15 pm
by Six_Of_One
hmmm, seems the problem lies elsewhere, as a winme original disk also cant be found as bootable by vmware.

More research is needed by me i thinks :roll:

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:00 am
by Havok
RC1 hasn't been released yet.

Not sure what build you're downloading but I have a feeling it's not the official build that was released a couple of months ago as MS cut it off.

Keep your eye's open for an official RC1 for Win7 via the MS site.

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:00 am
by Six_Of_One
This is what i downloaded, dvd works but i dont want to kill xp so i want to use vmware to check it out.


http://www.9down.com/Windows-7-RC1-Build-7077-87951/

This is the RC1 Win7 7077 build that has recently leaked onto torrent sites

Filename : 7077.0.090404-1255_x86fre_client_en-us_Retail_Ultimate-GRC1CULFRER_EN_DVD.iso
Size : 2.35GB
SHA-1: 6B4D676257C57607B951A101C7B2C559CD7A5730
MD5: BDCB388DAFFAD32D6264144C05B29700
CRC32: BFE066D4

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:46 am
by Havok
Six_Of_One wrote:This is what i downloaded, dvd works but i dont want to kill xp so i want to use vmware to check it out.


http://www.9down.com/Windows-7-RC1-Build-7077-87951/

This is the RC1 Win7 7077 build that has recently leaked onto torrent sites

Filename : 7077.0.090404-1255_x86fre_client_en-us_Retail_Ultimate-GRC1CULFRER_EN_DVD.iso
Size : 2.35GB
SHA-1: 6B4D676257C57607B951A101C7B2C559CD7A5730
MD5: BDCB388DAFFAD32D6264144C05B29700
CRC32: BFE066D4
That's not an official download and was some sort of leak from Russia. Take caution with it.

Dunno if you can run Win7 under VMware. I installed mine on a spare partition.

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:30 am
by Six_Of_One
Well i went to MS site and they said they pulled it from downloads, but if you had it they gave you a product key............ and they did. Expires march 2010 i think

Seems from forums around the place it works fine.

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:32 am
by Havok
Six_Of_One wrote:Well i went to MS site and they said they pulled it from downloads, but if you had it they gave you a product key............ and they did. Expires march 2010 i think

Seems from forums around the place it works fine.
I'll check after work to see what the release # is on mine.

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:58 am
by Havok