Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Current News and Events in our VGA Planets community. Debate issues of local, national, or global significance with our enlightened denizens.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

Post Reply
User avatar
Cardno
Posts: 3706
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Cardno » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:03 am

Anyone want to take a bet on my chances of installing Winplan on a Windows 8 PC? I'm betting against myself btw.....

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4960
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 1:37 pm
Location: I.K.S. Gorkon - patrolling near your homeworld...
Contact:

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Gilgamesh » Sat Mar 30, 2013 9:21 am

Winplan 1 - Cardno 0
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7579
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Havok » Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:55 am

My 1st recommendation would be to un-install Windows 8. It's garbage.

Then proceed with installation per normal.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1033
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: Cairns, Australia

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Hawkeye » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:12 pm

I'm running Winplan on Windows 7 32-bit. No real problems encountered.

User avatar
Cardno
Posts: 3706
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Cardno » Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:15 pm

I will give it a crack tonight.

Wacky
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Wacky » Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:04 pm

I would go with winplan 32 bit or with PCC 2 (planet comand centre 2)... don't think you can get original winplan to work on windows 8...

User avatar
JonnyDoH
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:45 am

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by JonnyDoH » Sun May 19, 2013 6:24 am

I played on VGA Planets nu when it was just getting off the ground. Did they ever create/recreate mods similar to the ones that are out there now? I'm thinking like the Teleport and Race Plus type mods...

By the way, I created the race icons for them. I had to drop out of doing further graphics for them when my schedule got filled, but it's nice to see that they're still using them. I kinda wish I had time to revise them though. I think I could have made better ones for some races. >.<

By the way, Unless Windows 8 has a 32 bit version with backward compatibility, I don't think you can install Winplan on the machine. Either that, or you can get in on VPA3.66
Your go-to source for bargain basement, high quality cardboard armored war ships!

User avatar
Cardno
Posts: 3706
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Cardno » Sun May 19, 2013 7:24 am

I'm sure its a lovely site - and the graphics are good, well done.

I just thought the message re windows 8 was a bit....over done.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7579
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Look into the sun.
Contact:

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Havok » Sun May 19, 2013 10:02 am

If you intend to play VGAP on Windows 8 you'll need to either install Winplan 32 or you can use PCC. Other options include DOSBOX has may people have been using since Windows 7 64bit came out so they could continue to use VPA and other tools they like. So it's no problem at all.
Regards,
][avok

Gavan
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:31 am
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Installing Winplan on Windows 8

Post by Gavan » Mon May 20, 2013 1:15 am

For the record there is a 32-bit version of Windows 8.

I think the problem you are going to find is no one is installing it on new hardware be default.

It would be something you would have to do on your own.
Just cause I am paranoid does not mean they are not out to get me.

Post Reply

Return to “Scuttlebutt”