Page 4 of 5

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:04 am
by BitMask
Sound like this is most likely a issue with our Java setup.

It's possible that by just clicking on jvc.jar that the wrong runtime is used. This version is specific to V1.6 and does not run on older versions.

Did you run the previous version of JVC before? Try that and see if it opens from double click.

You can also check you Java setting under Control Panel, Java. Select the Java Tab and click View settings for the Java Application Runtime Settings (Not the Applet. e.g. the bottom View button)

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:19 am
by the.Ant
wasp wrote:Well, it works with -jar jvc.jar. What are the other options for?

Nevertheless it should work by double clicking.
-Xms sets minimum allocated memory (so 200MB)
and -Xmx maximum allocated memory. Sometimes when game databases grow too big, I would select the game to open but nothing happens.
Or the game runs out of memory an I can't close it again. Assigning more memory manually helped in those cases. It's not always necessary but I made it a habit just to always use it.

But you are right, it should also work by double clicking.
This is however, a java issue not jvc related. I don't know how java is configured for windows, but you should be able to select somewhere which programs you want to use to open specific filetypes. Just look for .jar filetypes and change it globally from "java" to "java -jar".
Or make a shortcut for jfc and change the shortcut respectively.

Again I'm not sure but in linux "java" is used to open classes while "java -jar" is used to open .jar file. Since your command prompt gave you an error message about "class not found" I assume that this is your problem.

Is there any debug file i can send you?
I guess you would have to call the program with -debug as an option.
But I'm not involved with the program, nor do i know anything about java.

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:25 am
by the.Ant
BitMask wrote: Your first issue with the color I have as well.
BTW, I just realized, the colour is not only gone from the shiplist but from the whole control panel, so also warning colours from overtaxing, etc. This has just increased the importance of the bug for me ;)

The problem with the planet connection is solved though, I just found out that you can select another colour by setting Utility.OwnShipOldWaypoint in jvc-settings/colour...

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:35 pm
by hennef
the.Ant wrote:
BitMask wrote: Your first issue with the color I have as well.
BTW, I just realized, the colour is not only gone from the shiplist but from the whole control panel, so also warning colours from overtaxing, etc. This has just increased the importance of the bug for me ;)

The problem with the planet connection is solved though, I just found out that you can select another colour by setting Utility.OwnShipOldWaypoint in jvc-settings/colour...
yep - its a BIG problem!!! when you keep taxing those unhappy people.... i would never do that if i would see that warning colors ;)

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:07 pm
by the.Ant
I agree. I did now a turn with build 60 but I guess I will return to the old version until that is solved. But apart from that, I really like build 60!

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:38 pm
by BitMask
Another running issue with JVC is that if you received a rst file from an ally (or who ever) the one turn, unpacked it and marked them as View Turn For and for some reason you do not get a following turn, then JVC hangs/does nothing on the load.

There is no way to switch off that rst file load without loading the game first. Chicken & Egg situation :roll: :?

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:16 pm
by the.Ant
BitMask wrote:Another running issue with JVC is that if you received a rst file from an ally (or who ever) the one turn, unpacked it and marked them as View Turn For and for some reason you do not get a following turn, then JVC hangs/does nothing on the load.

There is no way to switch off that rst file load without loading the game first. Chicken & Egg situation :roll: :?
True, I noticed similar problems. However, JVC makes a backup of the database, doesn't it? so you should be able to revert to the last turn and then turn the "view turn" off.
Another possibility might be to try unpacking the old RSTs again (maybe with winplan?) and see if JVC loads with that information.

Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:50 am
by planetmaker
Hm... do I read this thread correctly that some people start to dedicate some time in the continued development of JVC?

Great! :)

May I make a proposal, though it may even seem over-sized: make a subversion repository for it and grant anonymous read access to the world. It would make it very easy for other people to make an occasional patch. And the main devs can still have a proper look at it before integrating it.

That procedure works just so very well in the OpenTTD community.

Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:17 pm
by BitMask
Planetmaker, just follow this link. At's all there.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/jvc-client/

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:19 am
by planetmaker
Oh, thx. Didn't know it incorporated also a svn :). On the other hand... only the cvs thing seems to contain files...

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:07 am
by BitMask
Personally I also prefer SVN, but It was a quick download to get CVS and works more or less the same. And you can browse the repository in your web browser.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:54 am
by the.Ant
Well, I don't know anything about CVS but can/do you also upload your modifications on that page?
The files there seem to be the old version.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:39 am
by BitMask
the web access is read only.

:) To upload you need to have Developer access using ssh.
I still have problems setting up my ssh account, that is why my changes are not in there at the moment....

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:57 am
by ldam
BitMask wrote:the web access is read only.

:) To upload you need to have Developer access using ssh.
I still have problems setting up my ssh account, that is why my changes are not in there at the moment....
I accidently fell over this discussion...

It seems like open sourcing jvc finally pays off a little; if you need some help with the ssh you can find me in #vgaplanets on efnet, i would be glad to help so your changes will be available for all.

It warms my heart :)

kr. ldam

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:52 pm
by BitMask
Thanks Lars

I assume I can mail you at your Gmail account as well?
I'm a bit busy now, but when I have a little more time again I will look at it.