PHOST Q&A Forum

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

Silvestr Potash
Posts: 59

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#46 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:00 pm

of couse, by PBx code. Thanks for fast and detailed answer. ( the link to the format engspec.dat will be suitable in the formulas sheet of phost4 doc -for better clarify)

User avatar
Klauser
Posts: 991

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#47 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:18 pm

I'm having a Phost/Killing Floor related problem and would appreciate any assistance. I am currently hosting my first PHost game and am using the Killing Floor add-on for fleet combat.

The problem is viewing the Killing Floor combats - we're at Turn 9 and our first combats have occurred, but the players involved report no combats available in Killing Floor. I cracked open the turns in question, reviewed both the PHost and Killing Floor logs, checked the configuration settings ... and I still cannot figure out why Killing Floor is not showing combats.

Specifically, PHost's log shows the hand-off to Killing Floor for combat. Killing Floor's log show's it running the combats. The TRN files in question have the unreadable message you see from Killing Floor when a Killing Floor combat occurs. The Turn messages are even showing reports of the aftermath of the Killing Floor combat. But the combats are not availble in the Killing Floor viewer. I am able to sun sims in Killing Floor correctly, and I can set up simulations using the players available in game ships as well as ships that player has scanned.

I have re-checked both the PHost and Killing Floor documents and to make sure I had my HOST script set up correctly.

The only other addon I am using is Teleport.

Any ideas??

Versions:
- PHost version 4.1e
- Killing Floor version 1.5 (using registered KF player clients)
- Players using VPA version 3.63
Klauser

"Any ship can be a minesweeper ... once!"

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#48 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:09 pm

I've never played a KF game with PHost before, however I know the author Dale Pope is still around. His email is scarecrow@thewindow.com
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Klauser
Posts: 991

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#49 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm

Good thought - thanks!
Klauser

"Any ship can be a minesweeper ... once!"

User avatar
Klauser
Posts: 991

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#50 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:09 am

Well, it's been almost two weeks with no response from Dale Pope, so I'll ask again - is there anyone out their with PHost experience that can shed some light on my Killing Floor problem?
Klauser

"Any ship can be a minesweeper ... once!"

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#51 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:37 am

I know PHost, but cannot help you with KillingFloor and PHost.

What I can suggest is that you perhaps look at FLAK instead.
http://www.circus-maximus.com/forums/vi ... f=4&t=4095
and
http://phost.de/~stefan/flak/

I'm looking at creating a PHost game with FLAK as well.

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#52 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:11 pm

Klauser wrote:Well, it's been almost two weeks with no response from Dale Pope, so I'll ask again - is there anyone out their with PHost experience that can shed some light on my Killing Floor problem?
Probably not the one you want to hear, because my experiences with TKF rather closely match yours. I never got it to run something else than the simulator. I believe I tried it with THost (which is what TKF originally was intended for), so your problem probably has nothing to do with PHost. Otherwise, that'd have been my first suspect (possible incompatibility between TKF and PHost).

Did anyone on this forum ever see host-generated combat in TKF?


--Stefan

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#53 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:57 pm

I have seen one for FLAK :)


In this one a Lizard T-Rex is attacked by a Federation fleet consisting of a Missouri and a Kittyhawk.

User avatar
Cardno
Posts: 3706
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#54 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:54 pm

I don't know how you can stand the exctiment! Very breathless now.....

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#55 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:50 am

FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cardno
Posts: 3706
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#56 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:55 am

B A N E wrote:FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.
OMG!!!!!!!!! It's all tooooooo much..............!!!!!!!! HULLS instead of circles! Wowwee!!!!!

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#57 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:10 am

B A N E wrote:FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.
That is the latest version of PCC2/PlayVCR that I downloaded. (build 2012/01/21)
How do you get to see hull pics? Is it a setting?

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#58 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:00 am

There are two implementations of the FLAK viewer.

The one based on CCBSim has just circles and crosses. However, it features a pretty cool "3-D" camera work.

The one integrated into the recent PlayVCR can display hull pics, but has just isometric or top-view camera. To get the hull pics, it needs to have a "wpvcr.dll" file. That one contains hull pics in proper format for a VCR. If you install using the installer, and tell it your Winplan path, this will be set up automatically. Otherwise, create a file "C:\Program Files\PCC2\resource\cc-res.cfg", and place a line "wpvcr:d:\path\to\your\wpvcr.dll" in it (replace "C:\Program Files\PCC2" and "d:\path\to\your" as needed, of course).

I must admit I haven't upgraded FLAK for a long time now, even though I promised otherwise. However, if you're trying it, I'll promise (really) that I'll be there when there are problems :-)


--Stefan

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#59 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:34 pm

Ah. This looks nicer.
PCC2 did not know where to get the WPVCR.dll file.
Thanks Steu

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Post#60 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:35 pm

streu wrote:However, if you're trying it, I'll promise (really) that I'll be there when there are problems :-)
--Stefan
Thanks

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron