Page 4 of 6

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:00 pm
by Silvestr Potash
of couse, by PBx code. Thanks for fast and detailed answer. ( the link to the format engspec.dat will be suitable in the formulas sheet of phost4 doc -for better clarify)

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:18 pm
by Klauser
I'm having a Phost/Killing Floor related problem and would appreciate any assistance. I am currently hosting my first PHost game and am using the Killing Floor add-on for fleet combat.

The problem is viewing the Killing Floor combats - we're at Turn 9 and our first combats have occurred, but the players involved report no combats available in Killing Floor. I cracked open the turns in question, reviewed both the PHost and Killing Floor logs, checked the configuration settings ... and I still cannot figure out why Killing Floor is not showing combats.

Specifically, PHost's log shows the hand-off to Killing Floor for combat. Killing Floor's log show's it running the combats. The TRN files in question have the unreadable message you see from Killing Floor when a Killing Floor combat occurs. The Turn messages are even showing reports of the aftermath of the Killing Floor combat. But the combats are not availble in the Killing Floor viewer. I am able to sun sims in Killing Floor correctly, and I can set up simulations using the players available in game ships as well as ships that player has scanned.

I have re-checked both the PHost and Killing Floor documents and to make sure I had my HOST script set up correctly.

The only other addon I am using is Teleport.

Any ideas??

Versions:
- PHost version 4.1e
- Killing Floor version 1.5 (using registered KF player clients)
- Players using VPA version 3.63

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:09 pm
by Havok
I've never played a KF game with PHost before, however I know the author Dale Pope is still around. His email is scarecrow@thewindow.com

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
by Klauser
Good thought - thanks!

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:09 am
by Klauser
Well, it's been almost two weeks with no response from Dale Pope, so I'll ask again - is there anyone out their with PHost experience that can shed some light on my Killing Floor problem?

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:37 am
by BitMask
I know PHost, but cannot help you with KillingFloor and PHost.

What I can suggest is that you perhaps look at FLAK instead.
http://www.circus-maximus.com/forums/vi ... f=4&t=4095
and
http://phost.de/~stefan/flak/

I'm looking at creating a PHost game with FLAK as well.

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:11 pm
by streu
Klauser wrote:Well, it's been almost two weeks with no response from Dale Pope, so I'll ask again - is there anyone out their with PHost experience that can shed some light on my Killing Floor problem?
Probably not the one you want to hear, because my experiences with TKF rather closely match yours. I never got it to run something else than the simulator. I believe I tried it with THost (which is what TKF originally was intended for), so your problem probably has nothing to do with PHost. Otherwise, that'd have been my first suspect (possible incompatibility between TKF and PHost).

Did anyone on this forum ever see host-generated combat in TKF?


--Stefan

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:57 pm
by BitMask
I have seen one for FLAK :)


In this one a Lizard T-Rex is attacked by a Federation fleet consisting of a Missouri and a Kittyhawk.

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:54 pm
by Cardno
I don't know how you can stand the exctiment! Very breathless now.....

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:50 am
by B A N E
FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:55 am
by Cardno
B A N E wrote:FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.
OMG!!!!!!!!! It's all tooooooo much..............!!!!!!!! HULLS instead of circles! Wowwee!!!!!

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:10 am
by BitMask
B A N E wrote:FYI: Later versions of FLAK use hull pics instead of those circles.
That is the latest version of PCC2/PlayVCR that I downloaded. (build 2012/01/21)
How do you get to see hull pics? Is it a setting?

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:00 am
by streu
There are two implementations of the FLAK viewer.

The one based on CCBSim has just circles and crosses. However, it features a pretty cool "3-D" camera work.

The one integrated into the recent PlayVCR can display hull pics, but has just isometric or top-view camera. To get the hull pics, it needs to have a "wpvcr.dll" file. That one contains hull pics in proper format for a VCR. If you install using the installer, and tell it your Winplan path, this will be set up automatically. Otherwise, create a file "C:\Program Files\PCC2\resource\cc-res.cfg", and place a line "wpvcr:d:\path\to\your\wpvcr.dll" in it (replace "C:\Program Files\PCC2" and "d:\path\to\your" as needed, of course).

I must admit I haven't upgraded FLAK for a long time now, even though I promised otherwise. However, if you're trying it, I'll promise (really) that I'll be there when there are problems :-)


--Stefan

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:34 pm
by BitMask
Ah. This looks nicer.
PCC2 did not know where to get the WPVCR.dll file.
Thanks Steu

Re: PHOST Q&A Forum

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:35 pm
by BitMask
streu wrote:However, if you're trying it, I'll promise (really) that I'll be there when there are problems :-)
--Stefan
Thanks