Fleet Combat Game

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Fleet Combat Game

Post#1 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:49 pm

Wasteland (Lobotomy?)
Phost 4
PList 3.1 Normal
Rare Universe
SB+
Fleet Combat Engine=TBA
Z-Explore
No Ally
*Switch Race*

$15000
3M Clans at HW.
V.Rich HW
No free ships
Tech7 engines

No Borg
No Privateers

=====

The intention of this game is to be for the prelimit period to be
a small warship fleet combat game.

Victory Condition:
??? I'm pondering "most tons sunk by turn ###"

(edit to add NO Ally)
(edit to add Victory Condition)
(edit to change from Heavy to Normal)
(edit to change Fleet Combat engine)
(edit to change starting $ from $5k to $15k)
Last edited by B A N E on Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:36 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#2 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:52 pm

Since you have decided on it to be rare minerals, I want the


GORN
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#3 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:55 pm

Are you going with the heavy default setting on PList?
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#4 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:57 pm

That's the intention.
Plist Heavy including the pconfig suggested with the list.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#5 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:27 pm

In that case, I better download TVCR2 and get it registered :roll: and find and read up on Z-Explore. I like the idea of No Ally.
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#6 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:30 pm

Z-Explore functions similarly to exploremap.

I'm wanting to testdrive Zexplore and see if it behaves better than
did exploremap in Arena.

I'll read thru the docs a bit later and see what's what again.

I'll be reg'ing TVCR2 by the time the game starts.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#7 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:47 pm

B A N E wrote:I'll be reg'ing TVCR2 by the time the game starts.
Mine is done, slow poke. :P I'm interested in the cheesy ship graphics. :P
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

planetmaker
Posts: 88
Contact:

Post#8 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 3:55 pm

B A N E wrote:Z-Explore functions similarly to exploremap.

I'm wanting to testdrive Zexplore and see if it behaves better than
did exploremap in Arena.

I'll read thru the docs a bit later and see what's what again.

I'll be reg'ing TVCR2 by the time the game starts.
As I'm playing around with configurations regularily, I'm curious: what problems did you have with explore map? Did you use the newest version 2.5. Earlier versions are know to have deficencies.

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#9 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:11 pm

planetmaker wrote:
B A N E wrote:Z-Explore functions similarly to exploremap.

I'm wanting to testdrive Zexplore and see if it behaves better than
did exploremap in Arena.

I'll read thru the docs a bit later and see what's what again.

I'll be reg'ing TVCR2 by the time the game starts.
As I'm playing around with configurations regularily, I'm curious: what problems did you have with explore map? Did you use the newest version 2.5. Earlier versions are know to have deficencies.
From what the players & host (havok) reported, Exploremap
was choking on the second map we created for Arena.
You'd have to talk to either Havok or Klauser to get the
specific details/examples as I don't have the data anymore.
:(

Clusters of stars being shown in the wrong places, things like that.
As for which version? Again, see Havok.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#10 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:35 pm

What Explore Map was doing was showing planets all over the screen with that particular map.

You would see the immediate surrounding area like you were supposed to, but then you'd get a splash of planets from the other 3 segments of the map as well.

We tried to fix this with several different maps and it kept happening.

I was wondering if it had to do with the size of the map since it's bigger than normal due to the clusters being kept so far apart.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#11 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:10 pm

Awaiting an email reply for a possible change.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#12 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:54 am

I'm 12 turns into a Plist Hvy (guessing normal minerals) test game and
I've got very little done due to the cost of everything.
That's too slow a start.

So, nix the PList Hvy and go with Normal.

Awaiting discussion with Havok regarding the combat engine.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#13 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:21 am

:nlmda: :woot: :cylonclap:
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#14 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:30 am

FYI, I've played PList Lite and it was just too easy to roll out
Erasers like a madman.

(granted, borg aren't in this game (yet))
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#15 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:33 am

Now for some bad news, it looks like I'm going to have to sit this one out. It appears that the CCBSIM 1.1.13.1 and Microsoft Vista are not compatible with each other. I keep getting a "This system does not support fullscreen mode." and the CCBSIM docs say "CCBSim should run fine in any full-screen DOS session in a multitasker, but most likely not in a window. Tell me if you encounter a problem, maybe we find a solution."
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron