Unknown Hull

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
belorsch
Posts: 126

Unknown Hull

Post#1 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:00 pm

I'm in a game with no add-ons and I can see a ship with - Hull:unknown and Warp:?
It does show the race that the ship belongs too.
Any ideas as to why this would happen?
TIA
belorsch

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#2 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:14 pm

Dosplan?
If yes, dosplan is limited to identifying 50 hulls.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
belorsch
Posts: 126

Post#3 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:53 pm

B A N E wrote:Dosplan?
If yes, dosplan is limited to identifying 50 hulls.
No Winplan, but that is interesting. If dosplan has a limit then I suppose Winplan would.

User avatar
Tei
Posts: 602

Re: Unknown Hull

Post#4 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:48 pm

belorsch wrote:I'm in a game with no add-ons and I can see a ship with - Hull:unknown and Warp:?
It does show the race that the ship belongs too.
Any ideas as to why this would happen?
TIA
belorsch
I see "Unknown Hull" once in a while. I always thought that it was a normal random occurance.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Unknown Hull

Post#5 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:51 pm

belorsch wrote:I'm in a game with no add-ons and I can see a ship with - Hull:unknown and Warp:?
It does show the race that the ship belongs too.
Any ideas as to why this would happen?
TIA
belorsch
Get closer to the ship. You'll identify it then.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4940
Contact:

Post#6 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:53 pm

belorsch wrote:
B A N E wrote:Dosplan?
If yes, dosplan is limited to identifying 50 hulls.
No Winplan, but that is interesting. If dosplan has a limit then I suppose Winplan would.
I believe it does and you're most likely to hit it if you create a strong alliance (FFx as opposed to ffx) and start seeing all of your allies contacts as well as your own. Problem is that it's usually something you REALLY need to know. It's a Murphy's Law thing that the unknown hull is never a ship on the far side of your ally's homeworld, it's part of a fleet closing in on you..... :shock:
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

planetmaker
Posts: 88
Contact:

Re: Unknown Hull

Post#7 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:49 am

belorsch wrote:I'm in a game with no add-ons and I can see a ship with - Hull:unknown and Warp:?
It does show the race that the ship belongs too.
Any ideas as to why this would happen?
TIA
belorsch
IIRC there's a bug in winplan that it might show contact #50 without proper identification

edit: contact not ship id

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Post#8 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:51 am

I had the same thing recently using Winplan. I'm pretty sure that Echoview can correctly identify the ship type and owner....

User avatar
ripjack
Posts: 133

Post#9 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:07 pm

Hawkeye wrote:I had the same thing recently using Winplan. I'm pretty sure that Echoview can correctly identify the ship type and owner....
I agree. I get that from time to time. Have to look at Echoview to see what it really is.
Batman: "Experience teaches slowly, Robin. And at a cost of many mistakes."

User avatar
belorsch
Posts: 126

Post#10 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:03 pm

Thanks for the help guys.
Gilgamesh - You are right. It's a ship headed my way and now that it is closer I can see what it is.

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4940
Contact:

Post#11 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:24 pm

Murphy's law strikes again....
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
darkdimensions
Posts: 212

Post#12 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:03 pm

glad thats solved, ive been wondering about that unknown hull for a while.

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron