Page 1 of 1

Now that is strange...

Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:11 pm
by Hawkeye
Here's the scenario: No frills game, enemy ship is over one of my planets. Next turn, enemy ship moves 1 LY east off the planet into the warp well. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship have Warp=9. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship end up at the same location as the enemy ship, 1 LY into the warp well.

The intecepting ships all started the turn either on the planet aforementioned, or on another planet - none started in the warpwell

According to the forum config page, the planet gravity well is set to on.

Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:46 am
by BitMask
Now that is a lucky one (or unlucky)
Does sound like there is an issue there.

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 2:38 am
by Hawkeye
The first place to look would be to see if gravity wells is indeed turned on at the host end, as I've only presumed it is because it says so on the Welcome to No Frills 83 forum

Re: Now that is strange...

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:49 pm
by Gavan
Hawkeye wrote:Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?
You should have ended up on the planet. I am in a no frills game and that is exactly what happened to me this turn when trying to intercept a ship. (I am trying to chase damaged ships out of the warp well)

Re: Now that is strange...

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:08 pm
by Hawkeye
Gavan wrote:You should have ended up on the planet. I am in a no frills game and that is exactly what happened to me this turn when trying to intercept a ship. (I am trying to chase damaged ships out of the warp well)
True true, but I ended up in the warp well, one light year off the planet instead. I'll PM Havok to check the game config

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:46 pm
by Shardin5
Hawkeye wrote:Here's the scenario: No frills game, enemy ship is over one of my planets. Next turn, enemy ship moves 1 LY east off the planet into the warp well. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship have Warp=9. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship end up at the same location as the enemy ship, 1 LY into the warp well.

The intecepting ships all started the turn either on the planet aforementioned, or on another planet - none started in the warpwell

According to the forum config page, the planet gravity well is set to on.

Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?
It would help if I read what I was posting, about better.

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:30 pm
by Rimstalker
off the top of my head, the only reason I can think of is a Ion Storm pulling you along.

Or a possible fuckup with intercepting in warpwells of two planets that overlap.

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:58 pm
by Hawkeye
Havok's checked the config - the warp wells are set to "on". The planet in question doesnt have another planet so close as to cause any issues. I'll do some experimenting in this game and report back.

What I can tell you otherwise was that the intercepting ships were cloakers, and no PE was set.