Page 1 of 2

New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:31 am
by BitMask
Version 63 is a major change in how we release Winplan32 as we now have an installer!
The installer will install all required files and the sounds and new bitmaps.

We have improved the Hyperjump system. The Hyperjump option under the Auto Waypoints and Tasks will now find any Hyp planets within the 340Ly – 360Ly range as well as those that have warped wells inside that range. No more setting the X,Y manually from external applications.

Also new in this version is warp circles. Warp circles can be toggled using the options marked below. It can display circles for all warp speeds (light grey) of your current ship and also highlight (light yellow) the current warp setting of your ship. In addition you can also display only odd number warp circles or display them for all known ships.
You can find this version in our download section.

Image

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:02 am
by Gavan
oh oh oh something new to play with. =D>

Do I need to run the installer now that you have one or just extract winplan32.exe and replace?

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:16 am
by BitMask
You don't have to use the setup if you have it running already, although it does have 2 fixes to the BMP files and a menu shortcut included.

I added a stand alone upgrade of the Winplan32.exe to the downloads which you can use if you want to upgrade only the EXE, but using the installer is the preferred installation method.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:28 am
by Gavan
I appear to have lost the ability while on a planet to change to a ship by pressing the S key. While on a Ship I can press the P key to get to a planet but not the other way.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:24 am
by BitMask
Gavan wrote:I appear to have lost the ability while on a planet to change to a ship by pressing the S key. While on a Ship I can press the P key to get to a planet but not the other way.
I have add a bug report for this. It must have been lost when the ship combo box was introduced.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:32 pm
by Gavan
Thanks BitMask,

Can I also ask that you change ship damage colour back to Red so it is quite clear when a ship is damaged.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:03 am
by BitMask
I made the change

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:20 pm
by Julius Atreides
Just downloaded this version and started poking around in my turn with it. Gotta say I like what I'm seeing.

Plus, it isn't crashing on me when I try to look at HYP circles any more.

I did note that in the Find Object function if I am using any of the sub-category searches other than ALL for either the planets or ships that it gives no results.

Cheers.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:16 pm
by BitMask
I am glad you like it.
Note that the HYP function will find more planets to HYP to than most other apps and it really works well. It's my favourite change change in this version :D

All the starmap functions are being changed at the moment. It will also be docked on the side like the other screens.
And I think we already fixed the find issue as well.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Thu May 22, 2014 11:21 pm
by Rearview
I'm new to Winplan32 but I had trouble getting started with both the stable and the latest version with this issue (I did NOT use the installer).

temp.bmp was missing which caused the client to close. I copied it from my winplan install on my XP VM but now its just always static on one image. My VCR and my ship silhouettes are static now. I don't' know how exactly this file works. Can someone shed some light on fixing this?

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Fri May 23, 2014 1:58 am
by BitMask
temp.bmp is created by the app from the image that needs to be shown. Do you have a BMP folder (e.g. c:\planets\BMP\)
I suggest you do use the installer if you get trouble with just the update of the EXE as it will install most of the required files you need.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 4:35 pm
by Rearview
I installed the latest client with the installer on a new computer. It put it in the defauly location of c:\program files (x86)\Winplan32. I get the same issue. (Run-time error 53: File not found: c:\program files (x86)\Winplan32\temp.bmp

in my previous install, the game was installed in c:\plan1, FYI.

The tmp.bmp file never gets created. When it is not there, I also get an error when opening the starbase window: "error: Sbasestats" If I manually put a temp.bmp there, I do not get this error, but I also have a constantly static temp.bmp file.

These are both 64 bit computers if that matters. I don't have a 32-bit at the moment to try it on.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Thu May 29, 2014 1:28 am
by BitMask
Rearview,
Can you try installing it with the installer to the folder c:\planets\ and check if that makes a difference.

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:42 pm
by Rearview
Same result. I went over to a 32 bit windows 7 computer at work. same results no matter the install directory. The temp.bmp never gets created. *Shrug*

I also tried installing Winplan32 on the XP virtual machine that I've been using Winplan 3.5 on for a couple years now. Same error.

Is it just me?

Re: New Winplan32 V3.6.63 released

Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 1:29 pm
by BitMask
It's just you, so something you do or have is breaking it. Do you have something that deletes files? Also try disable your antivirus. Try to run Winplan as the administrator.