Page 1 of 1

VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Fri May 17, 2013 3:38 pm
by Quapla
Hi,

I hope all bugs (esp. running under plain Windows XP) are fixed.

See release notes:

Version V3.66
! Shows bases that built, lastbuilt and are supposed to be to build next
B: This base built a ship last turn
L: This was last base that built a ship (end of queue)
N: This will be the next (own) base to build
+ Reads Distress Call (Ground Attack) messages and puts correct planet owner
-> take care: use correct VPA.MSG
! Minor bugfixes
! Ground Attack simulation optimized
+ Common Mistakes added: Check 'trg'/'pop', Build Base, No construction on starbase
! Shows if a Starbase might be built (Minerals+Cash on Planet and Ships)
+ Shows PlanetYnfos, aka Minerals and Money on Planet (Shift Y)
+ Shows Navtives at planets (Shift N)
! Reset Video and Mouse, now CTRL-V
! Config Common Mistakes Parameter, now CTRL-W
+ Shows Addon Teleport Bases with transfer, SHIFT-V
! All unfinished "task-code" removed
! New Addon-Feature "Teleport" - use CRTL-U to activate
+ Addon Teleport added in forecast
+ Addon Teleport-Control in Planet/Base dialog
+ Teleport Add-on in Common Mistakes (F11)

Side notes:
1. Use correct VPA.MSG, if you have changed your VPA.MSG take care and redo your changes
2. Addon-Teleport use CTRL-U first
3. Any bugs or improvements can be discussed here

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 1:57 pm
by Kratisto
Hello there :)

I've noticed the Planet simulator doesn't work properly. For example, there are problems with how temperature affecs growth. VPA says a temp 1 planet can support a maximum of 39 (lizard) colonist, but the VGA Planets calculator (http://www.vgaplanets.ca/vgapcalc.php) says 49, just as the actual game (host 3.22.47).

I've recently began to play VGAP with a few friends after many, many years. We are VERY rusty, but we used exclusively VPA. So, if you wish, I'll post any issues or bug we found with the latest version.

Thank you for fixing VPA's bugs and new features!

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 2:47 pm
by Quapla
Kratisto wrote:So, if you wish, I'll post any issues or bug we found with the latest version.
Yes please - i will have a look for it.
Nice page anyway.

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 8:08 am
by Quapla
Kratisto wrote:Ahh, the joys of old codebases... :mrgreen:
Yes - it's really fun... Argh, no it isn't. [-X

At least i found 3 or more positions where planet economics are calculated within VPA.

One position calculates correctly, and differs HOST/PHOST (on Planet-Screen)
One calculates only Host (Borg Calc and Forecast)
One only Phost (this is F6) :^o
One uses the other, see above.

If i find time i will reorganize it... But that might be like an operation at an open heart - at least what concerns the Planet-Screen...

I can do a quick hack, but i would like to do it right (later).

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 9:57 am
by Kratisto
Well, if the problem is PHOST calcs differs from HOST, then there should be a way to make VPA use the correct one for the current game is displayed. I guess host autodetection is asking too much, so maybe just a simple flag in the options screen?

Anyway, I imagine the real issue must be that the planet sim code is mixed with the screen presentation... makes me want to take a look, but I've only ever dealt with Delphi... so the ye olde DOS Pascal makes me afraid... ^^u

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 4:04 pm
by Quapla
Kratisto wrote:Well, if the problem is PHOST calcs differs from HOST, then there should be a way to make VPA use the correct one for the current game is displayed. I guess host autodetection is asking too much, so maybe just a simple flag in the options screen?
Yes sure - but there are three (!) different codes, from - as i suppose - at least 5 different coders (me included), and some do it correct (like Nr. 1) and some not.
in later versions i try to move them together.
Kratisto wrote:Anyway, I imagine the real issue must be that the planet sim code is mixed with the screen presentation... makes me want to take a look, but I've only ever dealt with Delphi... so the ye olde DOS Pascal makes me afraid... ^^u
No that would be too easy in that code :mrgreen:

But anyway, i fixed it somehow - here is the changelog of the upominf 3.67 beta-1, which might never be released.
2013-05-19 Quapla (3.67b1)
+ Teleport Add-On integrated in Quality-Assurane (#)
! Improvements in Quality Assurance (toggle view, more data for bases)
- Help added CTRL-L, #
! Planet Sim: Max Colos some bugs fixed, THOST added

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:56 pm
by jemmini
Hello!
What is this??? Image

Re: VPA V3.66 released

Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 1:30 am
by Quapla
jemmini wrote:Hello!
What is this???
Hi,
see docs ;) as is WhatsNew.361 written:

Version V3.66
! Shows bases that built, lastbuilt and are supposed to be to build next
B: This base built a ship last turn
L: This was last base that built a ship (end of queue)
N: This will be the next (own) base to build
+ Reads Distress Call (Ground Attack) messages and puts correct planet owner
-> take care: use correct VPA.MSG
! Minor bugfixes
! Ground Attack simulation optimized
+ Common Mistakes added: Check 'trg'/'pop', Build Base, No construction on starbase
! Shows if a Starbase might be built (Minerals+Cash on Planet and Ships)
+ Shows PlanetYnfos, aka Minerals and Money on Planet (Shift Y)
+ Shows Navtives at planets (Shift N)
! Reset Video and Mouse, now CTRL-V
! Config Common Mistakes Parameter, now CTRL-W
+ Shows Addon Teleport Bases with transfer, SHIFT-V
! All unfinished "task-code" removed
! New Addon-Feature "Teleport" - use CRTL-U to activate
+ Addon Teleport added in forecast
+ Addon Teleport-Control in Planet/Base dialog
+ Teleport Add-on in Common Mistakes (F11)