Page 1 of 2

VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:36 am
by Quapla
Hello folks,

i just released the "final" 3.67 at SF.net and updated the sources.

Things still to do:
- Look for planet simulation (F6), since this is a program inside the program it uses its own calculations and formulars. I would like to merge this part, but this will take time and efford. Maybe i will just fix the pillage/RGA bug.

- Add more support for Unity-Addon, i do not play any jupiter-addon games. So if there is interest to implement something, please give me more information.

- Any other things that come into my mind ;)

Here are the changes form 3.66 to 3.67 en detail:

2013-05-19 Quapla (3.67b1)
+ Teleport Add-On integrated in Quality-Assurane (#)
! Improvements in Quality Assurance (toggle view, more data for bases)
- Help added CTRL-L, #
! Planet Sim: Max Colos some bugs fixed, THOST added

2013-05-24 Quapla (3.67b2)
+ Key 'ü' same as Shift-O (Ship marked OK)
! Saw in code not in help: 'ö' same as SPACE, 'ä' same as CTRL-ENTER
! fixed minesim (Shift F10), now allied fields are treated correctly, maybe move check code to startup, vpa3.pas 'Phase 0'
to be treated corrctly, at least one overlaping minefield must exist.
! minor changes in Minesim, second circle was given up
! minor changes in QualityAssurance, Teleport Manager

2013-05-31 Quapla (3.67b3)
! Redesign of Teleport-Addon
+ In Quality-Assurance (# or Shift-V) 'z' to center map

2013-06-05 Quapla (3.67b4)
! Reset Mouse and Video moved to CTRL-S (sorry again)
+ Teleport-Overview at CTLR-V, so together with SHIFT-V (view on/off), ALT-V (Teleport Manager)
! Fixed memory waste in TempShip-Management

2013-06-14 Quapla (3.67b5)
! some more bugs in Minesim fixed, now recocnizes own fields correctly, and colonial fightersweep works, too.
Decay comes after lay/sweep
+ Minesim: no sweep inside Ionstorms, mineexplosions
! show Superrefit fixed
+ show Super Spy D. (deluxe) if fcode does NOT start with 'x', otherwise show it yellow (standard superspy without planet fcode change)

2013-08-20-2013-09-08 Quapla (3.67b6)
! Crash in Mine-Sim fixed
! Wrong data shown at Teleport-Info (Old Planets, no Bases etc.)

2013-12-08-2013-12-24 Quapla (3.67b7)
+ Unity Features added: bd[1-9,h], Klingon Vailand makes fighters
! lfm added (experimantal)
! Hiss, Pillage RGA now fixed again (in planet screen, happyness change), speed optimized
! Player 4+10 movement only if ShowForecast (Shift-F) is on

2013-12-24- Quapla (3.67b8)
! Rounding Pillage prediction fixed
! Teleport Tool CTRL-V: now shows 5 digits, press space to center, TAB to zoom
+ Common errors Shift F11: Switch off calculation of taxes for 1-clan planets in config

2013-12-26-2013-12-29 Quapla (3.67b9)
+ ALT-F1: Online-Help integrated - Take care to remap DOSBOX eventually
you need external program (in DOC distribution) to show textfiles
If you get messed just delete VPAHELP.INI
! Speed optimization in Common Errors (new option added, since accurate calculation takes very long (Simulate Hostrun for every ship for correct RGA/Pillage)
! Bug fixes in ships over planets
! Bugfixed in Common Errors (S-Warpwell), btw. never pull roots from negative numbers unless you know what you are doing [Thanks to Fireage]
+ All ini-files can be edited within VPA (needs DOS edit.com in VPA folder)
-> all new functions are highly experimental.
-> Esp. check CPU power, maybe you have to switch of forecast (Shift-F)
-> last 3.67 beta

2013-12-30-2014-01-11 Quapla (3.67 final)
+ simulate ground defense against aggressor ('C' on planet screen)
! Bugfix in Addon-Unity, calculation of supplies
! Bugfix in GetshipsOverPlanet, only under XP/DOS
! GetShipsOverPlanet improved/recalculated, if ships Mission or Fuel is manipulated

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:28 am
by FireAge
Congratulations, nice job :)

As for jupiter, don't bother. So much stuff there I haven't even begun figuring out all the options :P

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:43 am
by Havok
Thanks for all the work you're doing on VPA Quapla!

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:38 pm
by Quapla
Thank you - I keep on going,

@FireAge: I cannot reproduce your F6-Pillage/RGA bug. In my games everything seems to work correctly.

Just in case send me your data (again).

Quapla

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 4:15 pm
by Chorgey
The program has closed on me, probably because of a ship being outside of the map.

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 4:32 pm
by Quapla
very strange, please send gamedata to me, so i will check this.

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:04 pm
by Chorgey
Disregard. I unpacked the RST again and all is well.

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:52 pm
by FireAge
Quapla wrote:Thank you - I keep on going,

@FireAge: I cannot reproduce your F6-Pillage/RGA bug. In my games everything seems to work correctly.

Just in case send me your data (again).

Quapla
Just to give more details first.
Next to the colonist, there is a growth prediction.
That one is not correct.
But if press "+", then indeed the colonist decrease as they should.

Do you also not see that problem? If so, I'll start zipping :)

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:36 am
by Quapla
FireAge wrote:Do you also not see that problem? If so, I'll start zipping :)
OK, now I see the problem - very strange, I will have a look.

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:34 pm
by Fexer
Hi Quapla,
I've just switched to VPA 3.67 (from 3.62) and played around with some of the newly introduced features.
It seems this version is rather buggy on my machine (virtualized Win Vista running DOSBOX 0.74) especially with the added features.

I'm just curious, did anybody put the Teleport add on STRG-U to work? This feature always crashes with "Error: not enough memory" (The same with STRG-W or STRG-V). My dosbox is configured with 32MB which is more or less its healthy limit. Adding more memory has no effect what so ever.

Any experiences on this?

Fexer

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:15 am
by FireAge
If I may ask, why are you using a virtual machine (Vista) to run an emulator (DosBox)?

Wouldn't it be much more easy to run DosBox Native?

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:09 am
by Fexer
I don't run the virtual environment just for DosBox/VPA. This has other reasons.
Anyway it shouldn't make any difference...

Where do you run your DosBox on?
FireAge wrote:If I may ask, why are you using a virtual machine (Vista) to run an emulator (DosBox)?

Wouldn't it be much more easy to run DosBox Native?

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:15 am
by FireAge
I run it on Windows 7 x64.

Maybe try my settings?

Code: Select all

# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
#       fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
#       fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
#   fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#                     Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
#                     If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
#                     (output=surface does not!)
#           output: What video system to use for output.
#                   Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
#         autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
#      sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
#      waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
#         priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
#                     pause is only valid for the second entry.
#                   Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
#       mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
#     usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=true
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=ddraw
#output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=VGAPlan.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
#  machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
#           Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
#  memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
#             This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
#             though few games might require a higher value.
#             There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
#    aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
#    scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#              If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
#            Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
#      core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
#            Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
#   cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
#    cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#            Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
#            Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
#              'auto'          tries to guess what a game needs.
#                              It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
#              'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
#                              (Example: fixed 4000).
#              'max'           will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#           
#            Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
#   cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=max
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#   nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
#      rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
#            Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
#     mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#             Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#             Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
#  sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
#          Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
#  sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#     irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#     dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
#    hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
#          Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
#  oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
#          Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
#          Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=none
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
#      gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#  gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
#           Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#  gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#   gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#   gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
#           there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#           the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
#           with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
#    pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#     tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
#            Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=false

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
#               2axis (supports two joysticks),
#               4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
#               4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
#               fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
#               none disables joystick emulation.
#               auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
#               (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
#               Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
#        timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
#     autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
#       swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
#   buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
#          Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
#          Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#          parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
#          for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
#                           (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
#          for modem: listenport (optional).
#          for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
#                         transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
#          Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=disabled
serial2=disabled
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
#            xms: Enable XMS support.
#            ems: Enable EMS support.
#            umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false


[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

BLABLABLA

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:57 am
by Fexer
Thanks for your help FireAge, I appreciate it!

Finally I've found the problem! And like most of you guys may have experienced themselves, the problem lies nine out of ten times before the computer not inside! :-) Well this time, it's not quite the case.

Ok. So the VPA crash with the following error:
"ERROR: NOT ENOUGH MEMORY"
error address is 0004:0099

is reproducible. It's caused by VPA starting with /S option, which tells VPA to run in SVGA mode.
This mode seems to consume a fair amount of memory, which at least blocks the new VPA features from running (STR-V, STR-W, STR-U). What looks a litte bit strange here is, that the SVGA mode seems to write to the address space which seems to be reserved for the new features. So either /S writes to address space given to "new Features" or vice versa.

@Quapla: Maybe this is worth investigating ...


Fexer

Re: VPA 3.67 final released

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:20 am
by FireAge
Confirmed, I tried with your /S flag and indeed it did crash when using CTRL-V for teleport.

Glad you managed to fix it.