Dream Client for VGAP

This forum is for discussion of the open source Java VGA Planets Client (JVC) software by Lars Dam.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#46 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:04 am

Sound like this is most likely a issue with our Java setup.

It's possible that by just clicking on jvc.jar that the wrong runtime is used. This version is specific to V1.6 and does not run on older versions.

Did you run the previous version of JVC before? Try that and see if it opens from double click.

You can also check you Java setting under Control Panel, Java. Select the Java Tab and click View settings for the Java Application Runtime Settings (Not the Applet. e.g. the bottom View button)

User avatar
the.Ant
Posts: 283

Post#47 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:19 am

wasp wrote:Well, it works with -jar jvc.jar. What are the other options for?

Nevertheless it should work by double clicking.
-Xms sets minimum allocated memory (so 200MB)
and -Xmx maximum allocated memory. Sometimes when game databases grow too big, I would select the game to open but nothing happens.
Or the game runs out of memory an I can't close it again. Assigning more memory manually helped in those cases. It's not always necessary but I made it a habit just to always use it.

But you are right, it should also work by double clicking.
This is however, a java issue not jvc related. I don't know how java is configured for windows, but you should be able to select somewhere which programs you want to use to open specific filetypes. Just look for .jar filetypes and change it globally from "java" to "java -jar".
Or make a shortcut for jfc and change the shortcut respectively.

Again I'm not sure but in linux "java" is used to open classes while "java -jar" is used to open .jar file. Since your command prompt gave you an error message about "class not found" I assume that this is your problem.

Is there any debug file i can send you?
I guess you would have to call the program with -debug as an option.
But I'm not involved with the program, nor do i know anything about java.

User avatar
the.Ant
Posts: 283

Post#48 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:25 am

BitMask wrote: Your first issue with the color I have as well.
BTW, I just realized, the colour is not only gone from the shiplist but from the whole control panel, so also warning colours from overtaxing, etc. This has just increased the importance of the bug for me ;)

The problem with the planet connection is solved though, I just found out that you can select another colour by setting Utility.OwnShipOldWaypoint in jvc-settings/colour...

User avatar
hennef
Posts: 2250

Post#49 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:35 pm

the.Ant wrote:
BitMask wrote: Your first issue with the color I have as well.
BTW, I just realized, the colour is not only gone from the shiplist but from the whole control panel, so also warning colours from overtaxing, etc. This has just increased the importance of the bug for me ;)

The problem with the planet connection is solved though, I just found out that you can select another colour by setting Utility.OwnShipOldWaypoint in jvc-settings/colour...
yep - its a BIG problem!!! when you keep taxing those unhappy people.... i would never do that if i would see that warning colors ;)
have fun!

hennef

User avatar
the.Ant
Posts: 283

Post#50 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:07 pm

I agree. I did now a turn with build 60 but I guess I will return to the old version until that is solved. But apart from that, I really like build 60!

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#51 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:38 pm

Another running issue with JVC is that if you received a rst file from an ally (or who ever) the one turn, unpacked it and marked them as View Turn For and for some reason you do not get a following turn, then JVC hangs/does nothing on the load.

There is no way to switch off that rst file load without loading the game first. Chicken & Egg situation :roll: :?

User avatar
the.Ant
Posts: 283

Post#52 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:16 pm

BitMask wrote:Another running issue with JVC is that if you received a rst file from an ally (or who ever) the one turn, unpacked it and marked them as View Turn For and for some reason you do not get a following turn, then JVC hangs/does nothing on the load.

There is no way to switch off that rst file load without loading the game first. Chicken & Egg situation :roll: :?
True, I noticed similar problems. However, JVC makes a backup of the database, doesn't it? so you should be able to revert to the last turn and then turn the "view turn" off.
Another possibility might be to try unpacking the old RSTs again (maybe with winplan?) and see if JVC loads with that information.

planetmaker
Posts: 88
Contact:

Post#53 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:50 am

Hm... do I read this thread correctly that some people start to dedicate some time in the continued development of JVC?

Great! :)

May I make a proposal, though it may even seem over-sized: make a subversion repository for it and grant anonymous read access to the world. It would make it very easy for other people to make an occasional patch. And the main devs can still have a proper look at it before integrating it.

That procedure works just so very well in the OpenTTD community.

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#54 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:17 pm

Planetmaker, just follow this link. At's all there.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/jvc-client/

planetmaker
Posts: 88
Contact:

Post#55 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:19 am

Oh, thx. Didn't know it incorporated also a svn :). On the other hand... only the cvs thing seems to contain files...

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#56 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:07 am

Personally I also prefer SVN, but It was a quick download to get CVS and works more or less the same. And you can browse the repository in your web browser.

User avatar
the.Ant
Posts: 283

Post#57 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:54 am

Well, I don't know anything about CVS but can/do you also upload your modifications on that page?
The files there seem to be the old version.

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#58 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:39 am

the web access is read only.

:) To upload you need to have Developer access using ssh.
I still have problems setting up my ssh account, that is why my changes are not in there at the moment....

ldam
Posts: 21

Post#59 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:57 am

BitMask wrote:the web access is read only.

:) To upload you need to have Developer access using ssh.
I still have problems setting up my ssh account, that is why my changes are not in there at the moment....
I accidently fell over this discussion...

It seems like open sourcing jvc finally pays off a little; if you need some help with the ssh you can find me in #vgaplanets on efnet, i would be glad to help so your changes will be available for all.

It warms my heart :)

kr. ldam

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#60 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:52 pm

Thanks Lars

I assume I can mail you at your Gmail account as well?
I'm a bit busy now, but when I have a little more time again I will look at it.

Return to “Project 5: Open Source Java VGA Planets Client”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron