Tanascius

There is where you can ask Cherek anything that's on your mind.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#46 » Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:18 pm

Commodore Cherek, IRJTN wrote: Next time, look before you pillage. :twisted:
For sure. They were both my planets - one set up to pillage a good native race, and the other a semi-productive rock. If I'm ever moving in on a pillage with planets that close I'll run Tanascuis and then go back and lock waypoint on the one I want.

Lessons learned.....
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#47 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:21 pm

Hmm... so far the problem I have with Tanascius is that it is global
in nature and doesn't take into account horrible mineral densities.

ie: Planet X has 10000 of mineral Q at a density of 10%
On a planet like that, unless I am the lizards and there are reptile
natives, I just move on and ignore that mineral because it will take
500 turns to extract. Even with Lizards & Reptiles, it'll take 125
when investing $1000.

In such a case, Tanascius just keeps building mines trying to get
the the "turns to extract" suggestion preset.

I'll look at it a bit closer and see if can limit the industry so that
unless I build them, it never exceeds say 200 mines, 110 factories.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#48 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:19 am

Well, I've decided that I am done with Tanascius as an econ manager.
Tanascius does an acceptable job on safetax & growth tax, but I find
the industry development unacceptable.

I can set global commands and limits but there is no ability to be
specific with planets. Tanascius either under builds or overbuilds
creating huge losses. I have found that I just cannot let Tanascius
do the job and I end up spending the same amount of time fixing
what Tanascius breaks as I would if I hadn't used Tanascius at all.

So, I've been busy relearning randmax & randgen.
These two programs allow the player to manage the economy
globally and/or specifically.

I'm busily editing my randmax.ini files for the two games I am playing
and I am able after some calculations (via VPA's planet econ sim) to
project exactly what I will want economically on each planet and then
enter one line for that planet and randmax/randgen will take care of
that planet from that point on. All I will have to do is manage the
necessary freight runs.

Randmax/Randgen can be used at the default settings and it does
at least as good as Tanascius if not better.

I'm optimistic.
More later.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#49 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:53 pm

I just noticed that Tanascius.com is gone now too.... He was online a couple of months ago...
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#50 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:08 pm

Havok wrote:I just noticed that Tanascius.com is gone now too.... He was online a couple of months ago...
BUMMER!
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#51 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:37 pm

That's how I came across Donovan's being down.
I went looking for Tanascius's docs and went to Donovan's
to find the info and... no donovans!

:shock:
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#52 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:49 pm

The whole site structure in our community is falling apart... Next thing you know dogs & cats will be living together.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#53 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:55 pm

After I get it all figured out, I'll post a rough draft of how I would
configure my randmax.ini.
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#54 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:57 pm

B A N E wrote:After I get it all figured out, I'll post a rough draft of how I would
configure my randmax.ini.
Thank you, I'll give it a try.
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#55 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:09 pm

I don't even use Tanascuis for my taxation. I use it to use the gravity wells and randomize the FCs. I run a check to be sure I didn't screw anything up, and it's my favourite battle simulator.

Like Bane, I like to have individual control on my planetary economy. Makes my turns go a little longer, but worth it to me. I think what Tanascuis needs is a set up like an excel worksheet to let you set maximums for each kind of structure for each planet, and minmum happy points at which you want to stop taxing on the growth method, again for each planet.
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#56 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:28 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:I don't even use Tanascuis for my taxation. I use it to use the gravity wells and randomize the FCs. I run a check to be sure I didn't screw anything up, and it's my favourite battle simulator.
VPA does all of that. :P
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#57 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:29 pm

Tanascuis does all that and I can use Winplan! :P
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#58 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:35 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:Tanascuis does all that and I can use Winplan! :P
And Tanascuis and WinPlan work with Vista. :dh:
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#59 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:35 pm

I won't let Vista near my computer....
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Cherek
Posts: 5695
Contact:

Post#60 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:37 pm

I like it. :wink:
The line below is true.
The line above is false.

Cherek

Return to “Ask Cherek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron