Randmax and Echoview set it and forget it.

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Randmax and Echoview set it and forget it.

Post#1 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:22 pm

I may have just missed it, but I learned something cool about EchoView and Randmax.
I set the autobuild for Randmax in Echoview, and normally just use the 1st 3 selections for Factories, Mines and Defence in the Autobuild settings. I have seen the "nothings" and never realized how to use them, I just now discovered how to chang a Nothing into a new threshold autobuild, and put it into use.
Lets say your default for a planet is 100 factories, 100 mines, 21 defence. You want to keep those settings but for a particular planet you want to grow the Autobuilds in a certian way. So after the default build, you want want the planet to build more mines next, good mining planet so you want it to build it, out to 200 mines, and after that you want max factories to be built, when the planet has hit max factories you want it to build 100 defence points.
So from the 1st turn you look at a planet you have figured out how you want your Autobuilds to go so you can set it up like this.
100 Factories
100 Mines
21 Defence
200 Mines(changing the 1st Nothing under Defence in a default order)
Max Factories
100 Defence.
Randmax will do the builds in this order and EchoViews Prediction will show you how it will look and when you will get there with the current population.

So you can actually create 20 different thresholds for autobuilds orders.
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#2 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:05 pm

Problem with this - if you don't want your planets detected you will probably set your initial threshold to F = 15, M = 20, D = 15, and maybe your next set will be something like F = 100, M = 100, D = 50 (for the sake of discussion).

Except that randmax will start on the next theshold even though the first is not complete in all categories. So if you have your 15 factories and 20 mines and this turn you were only able to get to 14 defence but there is a little money and a supply or two left over, it will build another factory to start on the next level. Now you have 14 defence, 20 mines and 16 factories and you can be detected.

Is there any way around this?
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Post#3 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:01 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:Problem with this - if you don't want your planets detected you will probably set your initial threshold to F = 15, M = 20, D = 15, and maybe your next set will be something like F = 100, M = 100, D = 50 (for the sake of discussion).

Except that randmax will start on the next theshold even though the first is not complete in all categories. So if you have your 15 factories and 20 mines and this turn you were only able to get to 14 defence but there is a little money and a supply or two left over, it will build another factory to start on the next level. Now you have 14 defence, 20 mines and 16 factories and you can be detected.

Is there any way around this?
You could set it up like this
15 Factories
20 Mines
15 Defence
21 Defence
100 Factories
100 Mines
50 Defence

Or like this
14 Factories
19 Mines
5 Def
10 Def
15 Def
21 Def
100 Fac
100 mine
50 Def
Last edited by Shardin5 on Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
B A N E
Posts: 3777

Post#4 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:03 pm

IIRC,
14 factories
19 mines

15f & 20m can be detected.

15 defposts to prevent sensor scan
20 defposts to prevent bio scan
Understanding is a three-edged sword.
Your side,
their side,
and the truth.

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Post#5 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:08 pm

B A N E wrote:IIRC,
14 factories
19 mines

15f & 20m can be detected.

15 defposts to prevent sensor scan
20 defposts to prevent bio scan
21 defposts to destroy those darn scouts
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Post#6 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:16 pm

For trying to stay hidden. I have tried this on 5 different planets and it works

14 Factories
19 Mines
5 Def
10 Def
15 Def
21 Def
100 Fac
100 mine
50 Def
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#7 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:45 pm

B A N E wrote:IIRC,
14 factories
19 mines

15f & 20m can be detected.

15 defposts to prevent sensor scan
20 defposts to prevent bio scan
I thought that was:

15 factories
20 mines

16f or 21m can be detected.

15 defposts to prevent sensor scan
21 defposts to prevent bio scan
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#8 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:46 pm

Shardin5 wrote: 21 defposts to destroy those darn scouts
I thought that was safer at 41.
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Post#9 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:54 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:
Shardin5 wrote: 21 defposts to destroy those darn scouts
I thought that was safer at 41.
21 will defeat most HYP ships.
20 will stop Bio Scans.
41-42 for bigger scout ships.

Granted the idea here is how to use Echoview and Randmax, not what are the best settings.
So if you want to stay hidden, and make sure that your Defences are built before going over the threshold, this would work.
14 Factories
19 Mines
5 Def
10 Def
15 Def
21 Def
100 Fac
100 mine
50 Def

Granted you can use this kind of system to get to any level you want? By using increments or by just doing a level one and level 2 builds.
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#10 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:34 pm

Actually - I think that would work well. A few more lines for your default and for each "special" planet but otherwise - I think that would work just great. Thanks Shardin.
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Chorgey
Posts: 55

Re: Randmax and Echoview set it and forget it.

Post#11 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:38 pm

Does anyone have the 32 bit beta version of Echoview? It's no longer on the Echoview website.
Filename= EV1224BV32.ZIP

Thanks,
Kevin (Chorgey)
South Jersey

User avatar
Boronos
Posts: 124

Re: Randmax and Echoview set it and forget it.

Post#12 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:43 pm


Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron