VGAP ... 5 ??

Excited about that hot new video game? Wanna brag about your sweet new gadget? Here's a place for you to talk about it!

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Klauser
Posts: 991

VGAP ... 5 ??

Post#1 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:00 pm

Has anyone else heard more about the VGAP 5 effort? From what I've been able to gather:

"It will be published in 2011 and is based on version 4. New graphic and user friendliness are only one of the new features of version 5. Version 5 is based on the new Microsoft Silverlight technology. Users will be able to play in a 3D space. There are some changes in the version 4 concept due to the new media. To ensure that VGA-Planets will retain the original ideas of version 1-4 Tim Wisseman is supervising the progress."

- Wikipedia.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vga_planets

http://www.starcube.co/index_en.html

Basing it on VGAP 4.x is a big minus for me, but I'll try to keep an open mind.
Klauser

"Any ship can be a minesweeper ... once!"

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#2 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:10 pm

I would be happy with an upgrade to vers 3 that allowed it to run on my 64 bit machine....

Yeah - Planets 4 - well - it sucked....
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#3 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:22 pm

Yeah they have a FB page as well. As I understand it, VGAP5 is being developed by the people that used to be Tim's German registrar for keys. Dunno if that's true or not...

So far it appears to be a hybrid of 3 & 4. They did an alpha test recently as well.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#4 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:22 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:I would be happy with an upgrade to vers 3 that allowed it to run on my 64 bit machine....

Yeah - Planets 4 - well - it sucked....

There is a 32bit conversion of WinPlan in the work's now, which will run in Window's 7 64bit environment. I know Hawkeye is testing it. You can talk to him and find out more over at RC World.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#5 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:24 pm

Havok wrote:
Gilgamesh wrote:I would be happy with an upgrade to vers 3 that allowed it to run on my 64 bit machine....

Yeah - Planets 4 - well - it sucked....

There is a 32bit conversion of WinPlan in the work's now, which will run in Window's 7 64bit environment. I know Hawkeye is testing it. You can talk to him and find out more over at RC World.
Brilliant!!! Can't wait to see how that goes!
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#6 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:25 pm

Supposedly it's working pretty good.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#7 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:39 pm

If I can run Winplan in my Win 7 I'll be a happy chappy! :nlmda:
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Post#8 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:20 am

Havok wrote:
Gilgamesh wrote:I would be happy with an upgrade to vers 3 that allowed it to run on my 64 bit machine....

Yeah - Planets 4 - well - it sucked....

There is a 32bit conversion of WinPlan in the work's now, which will run in Window's 7 64bit environment. I know Hawkeye is testing it. You can talk to him and find out more over at RC World.
Errrr..... actually I'm using the standard version of Winplan on the 32-bit version of Win7.....

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#9 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:30 am

I started a JVC guide. Might help convert some old Winplan users to a superior client :D

http://vgap.innernet.co.za/jvcguide/

Still a work in progress though.

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#10 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:31 am

BitMask wrote:I started a JVC guide. Might help convert some old Winplan users to a superior client :D that work on modern PCs as well.

http://vgap.innernet.co.za/jvcguide/

Still a work in progress though.

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Post#11 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:24 am

Good call Bitmask. Especially since the JVC wiki is gone.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#12 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:26 am

It never really had good docs. Most of what I know I figured out myself or talk to other users. It's a great app to use. I don't think that wiki really had anything.

User avatar
Rimstalker
Posts: 955
Contact:

Post#13 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:38 pm

i am in the test game of the 32 winplan client at rcworld.

you can absolutely use it to do turns already.

And about vgap5: The company is about 6km due East from where I live, I think I will pay them a visit once I return from my holidays.
Wirklich reich ist, wer mehr | Truly rich is, who holds
Träume in seiner Seele hat, | more dreams in his soul
als die Realität zerstören kann.| than reality can destroy.

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4938
Contact:

Post#14 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:13 pm

Just so I'm clear - will the Winplan 32 run on a 64 bit Windows machine? I'm getting a bit confused here.
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Rimstalker
Posts: 955
Contact:

Post#15 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:25 pm

Ricki (the hostmaster on Rcworld) is in that game, he is on Windows7 64 bit.

http://www.rcworld.de/cgi-bin/forums/ik ... =2530;st=5 (3rd post from the top or so)

so, Yes it will.
Wirklich reich ist, wer mehr | Truly rich is, who holds
Träume in seiner Seele hat, | more dreams in his soul
als die Realität zerstören kann.| than reality can destroy.

Return to “Technology & Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests

cron