Now that is strange...

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Now that is strange...

Post#1 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:11 pm

Here's the scenario: No frills game, enemy ship is over one of my planets. Next turn, enemy ship moves 1 LY east off the planet into the warp well. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship have Warp=9. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship end up at the same location as the enemy ship, 1 LY into the warp well.

The intecepting ships all started the turn either on the planet aforementioned, or on another planet - none started in the warpwell

According to the forum config page, the planet gravity well is set to on.

Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Post#2 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:46 am

Now that is a lucky one (or unlucky)
Does sound like there is an issue there.

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Post#3 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 2:38 am

The first place to look would be to see if gravity wells is indeed turned on at the host end, as I've only presumed it is because it says so on the Welcome to No Frills 83 forum

Gavan
Posts: 879

Re: Now that is strange...

Post#4 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:49 pm

Hawkeye wrote:Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?
You should have ended up on the planet. I am in a no frills game and that is exactly what happened to me this turn when trying to intercept a ship. (I am trying to chase damaged ships out of the warp well)
Just cause I am paranoid does not mean they are not out to get me.

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Now that is strange...

Post#5 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:08 pm

Gavan wrote:You should have ended up on the planet. I am in a no frills game and that is exactly what happened to me this turn when trying to intercept a ship. (I am trying to chase damaged ships out of the warp well)
True true, but I ended up in the warp well, one light year off the planet instead. I'll PM Havok to check the game config

User avatar
Shardin5
Posts: 3808

Post#6 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:46 pm

Hawkeye wrote:Here's the scenario: No frills game, enemy ship is over one of my planets. Next turn, enemy ship moves 1 LY east off the planet into the warp well. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship have Warp=9. All ships that were set to intercept the enemy ship end up at the same location as the enemy ship, 1 LY into the warp well.

The intecepting ships all started the turn either on the planet aforementioned, or on another planet - none started in the warpwell

According to the forum config page, the planet gravity well is set to on.

Soooo...... shouldn't the intercepting ships have ended up on the planet instead? Or does the warpwell not work when the mission is set to intercept? Anyone?
It would help if I read what I was posting, about better.
Last edited by Shardin5 on Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference.
The US Marines don't have that problem.
President Ronald Reagan

User avatar
Rimstalker
Posts: 955
Contact:

Post#7 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:30 pm

off the top of my head, the only reason I can think of is a Ion Storm pulling you along.

Or a possible fuckup with intercepting in warpwells of two planets that overlap.
Wirklich reich ist, wer mehr | Truly rich is, who holds
Träume in seiner Seele hat, | more dreams in his soul
als die Realität zerstören kann.| than reality can destroy.

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Post#8 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:58 pm

Havok's checked the config - the warp wells are set to "on". The planet in question doesnt have another planet so close as to cause any issues. I'll do some experimenting in this game and report back.

What I can tell you otherwise was that the intercepting ships were cloakers, and no PE was set.

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron