Square gravity wells and echoview

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

Wacky
Posts: 32

Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#1 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:42 pm

I just found out that by default PHOST uses SQUARE gravity wells in stead of the usual round ones (why?!?)

However, Echoview does NOT know this, and as such, will predict happily that your ship does not get sucked onto a planet, even if it will.

Nice to learn this by loosing a ship loaded with torps for minelaying ;).

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#2 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:49 pm

Found out the exact same thing recently - was trying to intercept a ship 3LY down and 3LY across from the planet at warp 9. Both attempts failed making me re-think my original concept of the warpwell was incorrect. A quick browse of the game page has revealed it is indeed a PHost game... 8)

User avatar
FireAge
Posts: 424

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#3 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:04 pm

Ah damnit, that is what has been happening.
I thought I had just misclicked...

Drat.

Wacky
Posts: 32

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#4 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:55 pm

Amazing isn't it, that it's a default in PHOST?

I bet pretty much 0% of all new players with PHOST don't know about this, as you can't find it in the config file, since if the option is not there, the grav wells are square.

I would say any host keeping grav wells square is making a mistake anyway, but also putting all newer PHOST players at a disadvantage.

It also means sometimes you CAN reach planets in one turn when you thought you couldn't! Which can lead to some very nasty surprises if you are attacked...

User avatar
FireAge
Posts: 424

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#5 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:43 am

Well I've been playing PHOST for quite some time :)
But I have actually never played a PHOST game with square wells before.
That's probably why it didn't ring a bell the first time it happened...

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#6 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:39 am

I must have missed that setting.
I'll change it to round wells in future games.

User avatar
FireAge
Posts: 424

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#7 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:19 am

Well I'm not sure in what game this is the problem over here.
In FedWar2 they are round.

Code: Select all

### Ship Movement
  AllowNoFuelMovement             = No
  AllowGravityWells               = Yes
# AllowHyperjumpGravWells         = same as AllowGravityWells
  GravityWellRange                = 3
  RoundGravityWells               = Yes
  UseAccurateFuelModel            = No
The game I was having trouble in was on another site :)
This message just triggered me.

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#8 » Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:25 pm

FireAge wrote:Well I'm not sure in what game this is the problem over here.
In FedWar2 they are round.

Code: Select all

### Ship Movement
  AllowNoFuelMovement             = No
  AllowGravityWells               = Yes
# AllowHyperjumpGravWells         = same as AllowGravityWells
  GravityWellRange                = 3
  RoundGravityWells               = Yes
  UseAccurateFuelModel            = No
The game I was having trouble in was on another site :)
This message just triggered me.
The actual mistake is that the default simple config file for PHost (simple.src) is too simple at that place. The game you're referring to did not set it explicitly, thus invoking PHost's builtin defaults.

If I recall correctly, gravity wells haven't always been the same in Tim's host either, and subject to heavy debate. The solution(s) I'm heading for are (a) changing PHost's default config file, and (b) changing the defaults for new games at that other site. It is however a policy to never change PHost's builtin defaults unless absolutely necessary. (Because that would ultimately mean changing all programs that try to interpret a config file.)


--Stefan

Wacky
Posts: 32

Re: Square gravity wells and echoview

Post#9 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:02 am

Thanks for the feedback.
Just changing the default PHOST config file would help yes. That way players (and hosts!) should notice the setting.

Maybe it should also be mentioned in the PHOST help files, where differences between THOST and PHOST are listed?

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron