Windows 10

Here you can find, hints, strategies and other info for VGA Planets, PHost and it's many addon's and utilities.

Moderators: BitMask, Havok

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Windows 10

Post#1 » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:11 pm

Hey all

Does anyone know if the 32-bit version of Windows 10 will Winplan 3.5..?

Hawkeye

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4940
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#2 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:20 am

Interesting - if it does, I could be convinced to upgrade...
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Windows 10

Post#3 » Tue Sep 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Any brave souls out there with a spare couple of hours want to have a crack at testing Winplan on Win10 32 bit? [-o<

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#4 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 3:04 am

It would be nice to know if it runs.
If it does not run I have a lot of work to do so that it does run on Windows 10...
If you have Win 10 and want to test it for us, you can get the download at http://vgap.innernet.co.za/winplan

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Windows 10

Post#5 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 4:25 am

....actually I'm wanting to know if Tim's original 16-bit Winplan (version 3.5?) will run on Win 10 32-bit. I did have it running on Win 7 32-bit at one point

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#6 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 6:28 am

It just might if you are running the 32bit version

Gavan
Posts: 879

Re: Windows 10

Post#7 » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:52 am

BitMask wrote:It would be nice to know if it runs.
If it does not run I have a lot of work to do so that it does run on Windows 10...
If you have Win 10 and want to test it for us, you can get the download at http://vgap.innernet.co.za/winplan
Hi BitMask,

I just gave it an install on my Windows 10 64 - bit laptop. (This laptop was 8.1 until the upgrade)

I installed the 3.6.63 version with the installer. It installed without a problem and then gave the error about not being able to find the registration files. (Which is true as they are not on the laptop) so I copied them onto the laptop as per the error message.

I did run into a couple of surprises. None of the VPWORK1 to 8 directories had been created and I got an Run-time error 75 but both went away when I ran winplain32.exe as an administrator)

Overall I would say it runs just as well on Windows 10 64 - bit as it does on Windows 8.1 64 - bit.

Let me know if there is anything you would like me to test out for you.
Just cause I am paranoid does not mean they are not out to get me.

User avatar
Gilgamesh
Posts: 4940
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#8 » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:38 am

Has anyone tried to install Tim's Winplan on Windows 10?
QI'DaS tuQ SoSlI'

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#9 » Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:34 pm

Thanks Gavan. If you can start it and open most screens then it should be fine. Gret to know

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Windows 10

Post#10 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 7:38 am

Hawkeye wrote:Hey all

Does anyone know if the 32-bit version of Windows 10 will Winplan 3.5..?

Hawkeye

stay tuned..... :wink:

User avatar
BitMask
Site Admin
Posts: 2318
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#11 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:53 am

:-k

User avatar
Hawkeye
Posts: 1029

Re: Windows 10

Post#12 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:01 pm

.....and the answer is YES, Tim's original Winplan 3.5 will run on Windows 10 32-bit :D

I haven't fully tested it, just ran it up, loaded an old game and went to the starmap, however I've no reason to believe it won't work any different to Win7.

For those interested, I did a bare install of Win 7 32-bit, threw in a few drivers for LAN and touchpad etc, installed Winplan 3.5 plus associated windows\system files, tested it was working, then did the update to Win 10 32-bit.


Hawkeye

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#13 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:45 am

Keep in mind that Windows 10 is the same kernel as Windows 8....

Just like Vista and Windows 7 shared the same core and Windows 2K and Windows XP shared the same kernel base as well.
Regards,
][avok

User avatar
streu
Posts: 232
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#14 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 2:58 pm

There also seems to be a way to make Windows 7's XP mode run on Windows 10, so that would be a way to make Winplan run on a 64-bit version:
http://www.download3k.com/articles/How- ... er-V-00770


--Stefan

User avatar
Havok
Site Admin
Posts: 7557
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post#15 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:41 pm

streu wrote:There also seems to be a way to make Windows 7's XP mode run on Windows 10, so that would be a way to make Winplan run on a 64-bit version:
http://www.download3k.com/articles/How- ... er-V-00770


--Stefan
That's good info. Thanks for sharing.
Regards,
][avok

Return to “Intel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron